Project SNOWstorm is a collaboration between dozens of scientists and organizations. Formed in the wake of the historic snowy owl irruption of 2013-14, we have in the years since continued to expand our study of the ecology of wintering snowy owls.

SNOWstorm was the brainchild of David F. Brinker of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, Scott Weidensaul, research director for the Ned Smith Center for Nature and Art in Millersburg, PA, and Steve Huy of Frederick, Maryland. Its institutional home is the Ned Smith Center for Nature and Art in central Pennsylvania, which provides the 501 (c)(3) nonprofit umbrella under which SNOWstorm operates.

Partners include:

Major donors

  • RJM Foundation
  • Wendy McLean
  • Kathy Lambrow
  • Michael Reilly
  • Several anonymous donors


Team members include:

  • David F. Brinker, Maryland Department of Natural Resources
  • Scott Weidensaul, Ned Smith Center for Nature and Art, Millersburg, PA
  • Steve Huy, Project Owlnet, Frederick, MD
  • Michael Lanzone and Andrew McGann, Cellular Tracking Technologies, Rio Grande, NJ
  • Trish Miller, Conservation Science Global, Inc.
  • Gene Jacobs, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
  • David LaPuma, New Jersey Audubon‘s Cape May Bird Observatory, NJ
  • Tom McDonald, Rochester, NY
  • David Okines, Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory, ON
  • Eugene Potapov, Bryn Athyn College, PA
  • Norman Smith, Massachusetts Audubon
  • Jean-François Therrien, Hawk Mountain Sanctuary, Kempton, PA
  • Drew Weber, Cornell Lab of Ornithology and Nemesis Bird, Syracuse, NY
  • Dan Brauning and Doug Gross, Pennsylvania Game Commission
  • Cindy Driscoll, DVM, Fish and Wildlife Health Program, MD DNR
  • Erica Miller, DVM, Tri-State Bird Rescue, Wilmington, DE
  • Sherrill Davison, DVM, University of Pennsylvania New Bolton Center
  • Glenn Proudfoot, Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, NY
  • Tom Johnson, Hummelstown, PA
  • John Booth, Ned Smith Center for Nature and Art
  • Don Crockett, Great Blue Media Works, New Britain, CT (deceased)
  • Mark Shieldcastle, Black Swamp Bird Observatory, OH
  • Nova Mackentley and Chris Neri, Whitefish Point Bird Observatory, MI
  • Chris DeSorbo, Lauren Gilpatrick, Chris Persico, Biodiversity Research Institute, Portland, ME
  • Matt Solensky, USGS Northern Prairie Research Center, ND
  • Rebecca McCabe, McGill University
  • Ildiko Szabo, University of British Columbia Beaty Biodiversity Museum, B.C.