Project SNOWstorm is a collaboration between dozens of scientists and organizations. Formed in the wake of the historic snowy owl irruption of 2013-14, we have in the years since continued to expand our study of the ecology of wintering snowy owls.

SNOWstorm was the brainchild of David F. Brinker of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources, Scott Weidensaul, research director for the Ned Smith Center for Nature and Art in Millersburg, PA, and Steve Huy of Frederick, Maryland. Its institutional home is the Ned Smith Center for Nature and Art in central Pennsylvania, which provides the 501 (c)(3) nonprofit umbrella under which SNOWstorm operates.

Partners include:

Major donors

  • RJM Foundation
  • Wendy McLean
  • Kathy Lambrow
  • Michael Reilly
  • Several anonymous donors


Additional contributors include:

  • David Okines, Prince Edward Point Bird Observatory, ON
  • Eugene Potapov, Bryn Athyn College, PA
  • Dan Brauning and Doug Gross, Pennsylvania Game Commission
  • Sherrill Davison, DVM, University of Pennsylvania New Bolton Center
  • Glenn Proudfoot, Vassar College, Poughkeepsie, NY
  • Tom Johnson, Hummelstown, PA
  • John Booth, Ned Smith Center for Nature and Art
  • Don Crockett, Great Blue Media Works, New Britain, CT (deceased)
  • Mark Shieldcastle, Black Swamp Bird Observatory, OH
  • Chris DeSorbo, Lauren Gilpatrick, Chris Persico, Biodiversity Research Institute, Portland, ME
  • Ildiko Szabo, University of British Columbia Beaty Biodiversity Museum, B.C.